Recently Added Reviews

There's no need for how often this bastard film goes from desperately quiet to eardrum-shatteringly loud. Couldn't put the fucking remote control down for more than 20 seconds. It doesn't help that Willem Dafoe mumbled throughout either, the cunt. The fact this is black and white and filmed in 1:1 ratio says all you need to know. Its a unique, intense and very odd - some may say pretentious - film which ultimately proves that when men are out of hope and losing their minds, the only salvation is the drink and masturbation. Absolutely one for the connoisseurs, this.
By Mike (13 July 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
All I could think of throughout this film was, "Imagine how much he'd love a brew." I actually put this on with the baby asleep on me and I daren't move in case I woke him up. So, trapped, hungry, dying for a piss, caring for another dependable and wanting a cup of tea of my own, I began to relate to the guy in many ways. He is clearly the better man as he was seeking his own escape whilst helping an injured lady through an impossible course whereas I just sat on my arse under a blanket waiting for the sweet rescue of my wife coming home to make dinner.
By Mike (09 July 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
The first hour or so of this was great, I thought. It then goes, well, a little bit shit. I appreciated what they were trying to do but they went a little too far with it, to be honest. It's quite evidently made by a bunch of stoners with daddy issues who spent one too many a night discussing the cosmos. Deep down it's a study of one man's character and it just so happens that the whole thing is set in space; it is far from a space movie.
By Mike (07 July 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
I've had this ready to watch for years and my wife always refused to because she said it sounded sad. So the other day I thought, "Right! Sod it. I either watch it now or I never do." So on it went. I got about an hour in and my wife walked in. She asked me the sort of pointless question women ask when you're in the middle of watching something and turned her head towards the TV, right at a quite touching part. After about a minute she sat down without taking her eyes off the TV. A few minutes later, once that scene ended, she turned to me and said, "What's this? I'd have watched this with you." Women, ey. I despair sometimes.
By Mike (06 July 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
I watched this years ago - before this website even existed - but I was surpised to discover recently that I hadn't reviewed it. I began writing a review for it before I decided that, really, I should watch it again. It had been much too long since my last viewing to do it any justice. I take this shit very seriously you see, so I can't just throw any old shit against a film I once saw. So last night I watched it again. It's decent. Not something, I imagine, that I'll watch a third time, but there you go.
By Mike (24 June 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
This is fucking bonkers. I was expecting a sliding doors type film but there isn't just two timelines; there's about twelve. It managed to keep me entertained throughout somehow but there probably was too much going on. I imagine the guy who made it has taken lots of drugs in his lifetime. Maybe that's where I went wrong. Maybe I've not taken enough.
By Mike (23 June 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
I don't know much about skateboarding but I did that thing we all did as a kid whereby, one summer, I spent about three months worth of pocket money on getting all the skating gear - board, pads, helmut, etc - before giving up after about two days because I wasn't instantly brilliant at it. Well this documentary is about the guys who didn't give up; about the likes of Tony Hawk and Rodney Mullen who not only became the very best skaters in the whole world, but who also largely invented most of what skating was back then and still is to this day.
By Mike (19 June 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
I adored action films like this when I was a kid. Had I watched it back then I would have enjoyed it as much as I would have enjoyed a cartoon about a bunch of teenage-mutant ghost-hunting tomb-raiding transforming thunder power ninja GI cat turtle superheroes! I favour action films less nowadays, and, to be honest, cartoons too, but if you dig action, you'll enjoy this. It has some excellent one-shot scenes and loads of quality deaths; the up close and personal handgun deaths to the face are a particular highlight.
By Mike (13 May 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
Some people will have you believe that Breaking Bad is the greatest TV show ever. People who think that will probably enjoy this as the one final fix of their favourite drug that it was absolutely meant to be. For me it was unneccesary and adds nothing to the franchise. I would have enjoyed it much more if the timeline had been longer and you'd seen how Jessie's life develops decades into the future. Sadly, it doesn't do that and it will leave most people who watch it wanting more. Which, for a TV show about drug use, is a entirely suitable way to end, I suppose.
By Mike (06 May 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
This is worth watching just for the footage of the celebrations in Naples after they win the league title. The same passion that caused such celebrations also caused Maradona to be hounded out of Italy. It's a sad story in many ways. Maradona was a flawed human being who'd had a tough upbringing who couldn't take everything that fame brought his way, ultimately finding himself chasing the legend that his character had become.
By Mike (01 May 2020)     More     Link    imdb    Buy film / memorabilia
Page: 1 of 10